One Thousand Shades of Sober

22 Feb

Today marks the 1000th day of my sobriety. 1000 freaking days without a single drop of booze. Gotta say I’m pretty amazed by that myself. There were so many days and nights when I thought I would cave. But I didn’t. So what did I decide to do? Celebrate. Yep, I threw myself a big ol’ par-tay. A mocktail party. With all the people who have supported me and been there for me when I needed help. People who took time out of their busy lives to send me a quick text or email or share a few words of encouragement. In this case, though, I wasn’t sure that if I built it they would come. But they did. Through a miserable snow/sleet/freezing rain storm on a frigid night. They came out, despite those conditions, and no booze, to celebrate with me. I was truly overwhelmed.

Like I said, I had my doubts about throwing this party. Would people want to go to a party on a Saturday night with no alcohol? For a few, the answer was no. For many, the answer was hell yes. I’m sure the fact that we have all been cooped up in our houses with our kids due to the weather added to everyone’s enthusiasm for a night out. The invitation asked that guests bring a creative, non-alcoholic drink and that prizes would be awarded for Best Tasting Mocktail and Best Mocktail Name. There were some REALLY creative names and drinks. A few favorites were: “Abstinence on the Beach”, “Sans-gria”, “No Way Jose Mango-rita”, “Berry-Lime Hickey”, and ‘You Bet Your Blueberry Ass!” But the most votes went to “Still Have My Hymen Sangria.” Pretty funny. People seemed to have a fun time tasting and voting for their favorites.

In addition to the mocktail mania, we had a “Candy Bar” with all my favorite sugary treats. A few sugar hangovers today, but I’ll take that any day over the old days of puking and spending the entire day after in bed. It was definitely more fun than I had even imagined and, for the first time in a long time, I enjoyed a party and wasn’t drooling over the wine I couldn’t drink or searching for the door to plan my exit. We built it. They came. And it meant a great deal to me. One friend said as she was leaving “You know, no one came for the food, or for the drinks, or to have a night out. They came for you. To celebrate your amazing achievement.” What does one say to that?

I am happy that my kids were there helping and mingling so that they could see adults having a great time WITHOUT any alcohol. I am happy that I was able to have coherent conversations that I actually remember. I am happy that we all woke up feeling refreshed and not hungover. I am happy that people came and enjoyed themselves on a nasty, wintery night. I hope that everyone who came, and those who couldn’t, know how much I appreciate their kindness and support. God willing, they will be there with me to celebrate 2000 days. When I get the urge to pick up a drink, I can think of that and continue to fight even harder. There’s a whole world out there that can be just as fun, if not more so, sober.

Happiness lies in the joy of achievement and the thrill of creative effort.” – Franklin Roosevelt
If you build it, they will come.” -Theodore Roosevelt

10 Responses to “One Thousand Shades of Sober”

  1. joanavalyn February 22, 2015 at 10:12 pm #

    Congrats, Martha!!! It’s an amazing achievement with many more to come. Much love. j

  2. gevaz@aol.com February 22, 2015 at 10:13 pm #

    Martha — yet another great Martha party, great Martha blog. You’re pretty terrific, know that??? love, mom

    gevaz@aol.com

  3. Heather Eggert February 22, 2015 at 10:14 pm #

    Congratulations Martha! Your party sounds super fun. I am glad that everyone came out and had so much fun.
    Your friend was right- They came for you! BRAVO!

  4. earth-school February 22, 2015 at 5:33 pm #

    Beautious my friend……….

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  5. MJ February 22, 2015 at 10:44 pm #

    Way to go, my friend! And congrats on your 1000 days! You found a remarkable & extremely creative way to celebrate. A big hug from Central VA on this very special day! Lots of love to you, MJ 😉

  6. Ronald Bosch February 23, 2015 at 4:10 am #

    Would people want to go to a party on a Saturday night with no alcohol?

    Best Parties I ever went to were just that. I am glad you could taste all the drinks and celebrate the one thousand and one nights like Sheherazade. Super and Congrats!

  7. Holly February 23, 2015 at 8:23 am #

    Congratulations Martha and sharing happy tears for your wonderful day! Sorry I couldn’t make it… I was in a fundraiser “hangover”! So glad that it was a fun night for you! Very proud of you! Hugs, Holly

  8. Stop Wineing Start Living February 23, 2015 at 7:41 pm #

    Congrats!! Sounds so fun😄

  9. Christy February 26, 2015 at 3:18 pm #

    A remarkable achievement for a phenomenal woman. I am over the top proud of you Martha. You are exactly what Sobrietease represents and that is staying sober with the ability to laugh along the way. The fact that your Mocktail party was such a success is because of you my friend. We all love you and support you. I love you! Congratulations on your 1,005th day of continuous sobriety!

  10. Alison Husted February 26, 2015 at 6:45 pm #

    I’ve been enjoying your posts. Congratulations to you and best of luck in the days to come.

Leave a Reply

