Love and Laughter

24 May

There’s a reason why my tagline is “God, grant me the serenity to laugh at life.” In critical situations, what are the choices? Tears or laughter?

I know people talk about families coming together in times of crisis, but the family I was with this week did more than just come together.   Facing an extremely risky surgery to remove a tumor from her spine, the 14 year-old daughter of my best friend carried herself with grace and bravery leading right up to the surgery. The risks and danger of the procedure were explained to us. All the pertinent questions were asked. But there was laughter. Lots of it. Sure, some of it may have been nervous laughter but it was jovial and comforting to all. In fact, my stomach actually hurt from laughing so hard.

What was the alternative? Allow anxiety, stress and worry to take over? None of those things will do anything to improve the outcome of the surgery.

And then came the waiting. And the waiting. 8 hours into the surgery and still waiting. But with the waiting came more laughter. I was amazed at my friend’s ability to stay calm and wait patiently for the updates every two hours. Any nerves and anxiety that were there were quelled by the fact that not only is she in the hands of some of the best surgeons in the world, she is in God’s hands. As I wrote in my last piece, I’m learning to “let go and let God.”   I’m also learning that as much as I may sometimes think I should be able to, I can’t control everything and everyone all of the time.   And as much as I joke that everything is about me, I really do get it that this isn’t about me at all but is about some pretty spectacular people.

I’ll repeat a quote I’ve used before: “If it’s sanity you’re after, there’s no recipe like laughter.” – Henry Rutherford Elliot

Stay tuned.

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Love and Laughter”

  1. ronaldbosch May 24, 2016 at 9:33 pm #

    From an anxiety riddled bunny I became balanced, focused and at peace with myself once I truly felt “let him figure it out”…

  2. Christy May 25, 2016 at 8:28 am #

    Inspiring piece here, AG. HP saw to it that you were a part of something miraculous! It sounds like everyone drew strength from each other through prayer and laughter. I love how you talked about letting go and letting God. Isn’t it marvelous? Just like you!

Leave a Reply

